ZNMD

by saajidahfirdausi

After picking up and finishing Harry Potter and the Cursed Child in one day, I chose Our Moon Has Blood Clots to be my next read.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

It is a memoir by Rahul Pandita, a Kashmiri Pandit, who was forced to leave his home in Srinagar due the violence and ostracisation that he, along with the rest of the Hindu minority faced from the Muslim militants. I am ninety pages in, and how can I say that I am enjoying it without sounding morbid? I am very glad that I picked it up, but I shall reserve my final judgement till I am finished. Until then, a couplet quoted in the book:

Yeli chhe myonuy maqbar sajawakh, paanay pashtaavakh;
Asmaan’ik taarakh ganzraavakh, paanay pashtaavakh.

You will repent only when you decorate my grave;
You will count stars in the sky, this is how you will repent.

 

